BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE CITY OF LONDON SCHOOL Thursday, 16 May 2013

Minutes of the meeting of the Board of Governors of the City of London School held at Committee Room - 2nd Floor West Wing, Guildhall on Thursday, 16 May 2013 at 1.45 pm

Present

Members:

Deputy Billy Dove
Marianne Fredericks
Deputy the Revd Stephen Haines
Ronel Lehmann
Lord Levene of Portsoken
Edward Lord

Christopher Martin Sylvia Moys Deputy Joyce Nash Deputy Dr Giles Shilson Prof. Whitehouse

Officers:

Gemma Stokley Daniel Hooper Chrissie Morgan Janet Fortune

Claire Freeman Richard Jeffrey

David Levin Gary Griffin Phillip Everett Town Clerk's DepartmentTown Clerk's Department

- Director of Human Resources

 Head of Recruitment and Learning & Development

- Corporate HR

 Comptroller & City Solicitor's Department

Headmaster, City of London School
Second Master, City of London School
Director of Finance, City of London

School

Deputy Dove moved that Deputy Nash take the Chair ahead of the election of Chairman.

APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Sophie Fernandes, Alderman Sir Paul Judge, Dame Mary Richardson (co-opted), Ian Seaton and Deputy James Thomson.

2. MEMBERS' DECLARATIONS UNDER THE CODE OF CONDUCT IN RESPECT OF ITEMS ON THE AGENDA

There were no declarations.

3. ORDER OF THE COURT OF COMMON COUNCIL

The Board received the Order of the Court of Common Council, 25 April 2013, appointing the Board of Governors of the City of London School for 2013/14 and setting its Terms of Reference.

Governors noted that the suggested change in wording regarding the experience of co-opted Governors under the heading 'Constitution' had been approved by the Court of Common Council and that this was now reflected on the new Court Order. The Town Clerk highlighted that the job title of 'Director of Finance' had also been added in place of 'Bursar'.

RECEIVED.

4. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

The Committee proceeded to elect a Chairman in accordance with Standing Order No. 29.

The Town Clerk read a list of those Governors eligible to stand and Deputy Dr Giles Shilson, being the only Governor expressing a willingness to serve as Chairman, was duly re-elected for the ensuing year.

Deputy Shilson took the Chair and thanked Governors for their continued support. He went on to congratulate both Sophie Fernandes and Deputy Thomson on their recent appointment to the Board.

5. **ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRMAN**

The Committee proceeded to elect a Deputy Chairman in accordance with Standing Order No. 30.

The Town Clerk read a list of those Governors eligible to stand and Ian Seaton, being the only Governor expressing a willingness to serve as Deputy Chairman, was duly elected for the ensuing year.

6. MINUTES

The public minutes of the meeting held on 22 March 2013 were considered and approved as a correct record.

MATTERS ARISING

Outside Speakers 2013

The Chairman thanked the Headmaster for circulating a full list of the School's outside speakers for 2013 to the Board.

7. **QUESTIONS ON MATTERS RELATING TO THE WORK OF THE BOARD** There were no questions.

8. **ANY OTHER BUSINESS THAT THE CHAIRMAN CONSIDERS URGENT**There were no additional, urgent items of business for consideration.

9. **EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC**

RESOLVED - That under Section 100(A) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting for the following items on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Part I of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act.

Item No	Exemption Paragraph(s)		
10	1, 3 & 4		
11	1 & 3		
12	-		
13	-		

10. NON-PUBLIC MINUTES

The non-public minutes of the meeting held on 22 March 2013 were considered and approved as a correct record.

11. APPOINTMENT OF HEADTEACHER

** MR GRIFFIN (SECOND MASTER) AND MR EVERETT (DIRECTOR OF FINANCE) LEFT THE MEETING AT THIS POINT**

The Committee considered a report of the Director of Human Resources setting out the recruitment process for the appointment of a new Headteacher.

- 12. **QUESTIONS ON MATTERS RELATING TO THE WORK OF THE BOARD**There were no questions in the non-public session.
- 13. **ANY OTHER BUSINESS THAT THE CHAIRMAN CONSIDERS URGENT**There were no additional, urgent items of business for consideration in the non-public session.

The meeting	g ended	at 3.10	pm

	 	-
Chairman		

Contact Officer: Gemma Stokley

tel. no.: 020 7332 1427

gemma.stokley@cityoflondon.gov.uk