EPPING FOREST & COMMONS COMMITTEE

1. Constitution

A Non-Ward Committee consisting of,

- two Aldermen nominated by the Court of Aldermen
- 8 Commoners elected by the Court of Common Council at least one of whom shall have fewer than five years' service on the Court at the time of their appointment
- the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Open Spaces & City Gardens Committee (ex-officio)
- plus, for the consideration of business relating to Epping Forest only, four Verderers elected or appointed pursuant to the Epping Forest Act 1878.

2. Quorum

The quorum consists of any five Members.

For the purpose of non-Epping Forest related business the quorum must consist of five Committee Members who must be Members of the Court of Common Council.

3. Membership 2015/16

ALDERMEN

Sir Paul Judge

COMMONERS

- 5 (4) George Christopher Abrahams
- 12 (4) John Alfred Barker, O.B.E., Deputy
- 7 (3) Stanley Ginsburg J.P., Deputy
- 11 (3) Catherine McGuinness, M.A., Deputy
- 2 (2) Sylvia Doreen Moys
- 18 (2) Barbara Patricia Newman, C.B.E.
- 5 (1) Virginia Rounding
- 1 (1) Philip John Woodhouse

together with the ex-officio Members referred to in paragraph 1 above and:-

Verderers pursuant to the provisions of the Epping Forest Act, 1878:-

- Mr. P. Adams

Mr. M. Chapman, D.L.Mr. R. Morris, O.B.E.

- Dr. J. Thomas

4. Terms of Reference

To be responsible, having regard to the overall policy laid down by the Open Spaces & City Gardens Committee, for:-

- (a) exercising of the powers and duties of the Court of Common Council as Conservators of Epping Forest (registered charity no. 232990) and the various additional lands which have been acquired to protect the Forest in accordance, where appropriate, with the Epping Forest Acts 1878 and 1880 (as amended) and all other relevant legislation.
- (b) the ownership and management of the following open spaces in accordance with the provisions of the Corporation of London Open Spaces Act 1878:-

Coulsdon and other Commons (registered charity no. 232989), the other Commons being Kenley Common, Farthing Downs and Riddlesdown

West Wickham Common and Spring Park (registered charity no. 232988)

Ashtead Common (registered charity no. 1051510)

Burnham Beeches and Stoke Common (registered charity no. 232987)

(c) appointing such Consultative Committees or groups as are considered necessary for the better performance of its duties, including for the following areas:-

Ashtead Common

Burnham Beeches and Stoke Common

Epping Forest

West Wickham, Spring Park and Coulsdon Common

(d) to express views or make recommendations to the Open Spaces and City Gardens Committee for that Committee's allocation of grants which have relation to Epping Forest and Commons, in line with annual funding and priorities agreed by the Resource Allocation Sub (Policy and Resources) Committee").