Skip to content

Court of Aldermen

This page lists the meetings for Court of Aldermen.


Information about Court of Aldermen

The Court of Aldermen is summoned and presided over by the Lord Mayor and consists of the 25 Aldermen, one for each ward of the City, and The Recorder of London.  Aldermen are elected at least every six years (separately from the Common Councilmen elections, and not all at once).


Today the Court of Common Council (100 Common Councilmen and 25 Aldermen) governs the City of London Corporation, the oldest continuous municipal democracy in the world, which in turn acts as local authority for the geographic Square Mile around St Paul’s, among many other roles. The range of services the City provides its workers, residents and visitors and the national and international work the City is called upon to perform is unique. Common Council accomplishes this work through a committee structure.


Back to top of page