Agenda item

Election of the Chairman

To elect a Chairman in accordance with Standing Order 29.


In accordance with Standing Order 29, Jeremy Mayhew was elected Chairman of the Finance Committee for the ensuring year.


The Chairman thanked Members for their support.


He also expressed his thanks to Kevin Everett, Sophie Fernandes, Christopher Hayward, Chris Hill, Tom Hoffman, Alderman Howard, Alistair Moss and James Tumbridge all of whom had departed the Committee.


He welcomed Rehana Ameer, Alderman Gregory Jones, Alderman Nicholas Lyons, Benjamin Murphy, James de Sausmarez, John Scott, Tom Sleigh and Graeme Smith, all of whom had joined the Committee for the year ensuing.


In addition, the Chairman gave a brief statement: “This year will mark the beginning of a critical period for the Corporation: as central government funding of local government falls and as we begin to see some of our major projects further developed, the pressures on the City’s finances will inevitably, grow – thus, the forthcoming Fundamental Review. Our collective actions and performance will shape the City’s ability to continue to make a vital and positive impact, both locally and nationally.”