Motion –

by Alderman Timothy Hailes, J.P.

To be presented on Thursday, 21st April 2022

To the Right Honourable The Lord Mayor, Aldermen and Commons of the City of London in Common Council assembled.

Motion:-

"This Honourable Court notes and reaffirms its support for the Transport Strategy (adopted in May 2019) including the prioritisation of the needs of people walking - especially considering the imminent and very welcome opening of the new Elizabeth Line.

This Honourable Court notes that numerous traffic orders have accumulated over time in The City of London - including some dating back to the original 'Ring of Steel'.

This Honourable Court notes that adequate and plurality of transport access into The City will be essential to the recovery of the economy post the COVID pandemic as well as achieving our ambitious goals for the delivery of "Destination City".

This Honourable Court notes that wheelchair users, people with mobility issues (including the visually impaired) and the socially vulnerable face particular transport challenges - especially late at night - and that licensed Hackney carriages provide a uniquely flexible, environmentally friendly, fully accessible, safe and trusted form of transportation.

THIS HONOURABLE COURT THEREFORE RESOLVES:-

That the Planning & Transportation Committee be required to draw up a report justifying all temporary or other traffic orders currently in force in The City of London setting out their specific justification (whether on the basis of safety or otherwise) and making proposals for their review and any proposed repeal, amendment or retention, in each case, to be presented to this Honourable Court no later than September 2022 for further consideration.

That, notwithstanding the above report, the Planning & Transport Committee be required to draw up and present a draft traffic order no later than the June meeting of this Honourable Court specifically permitting E-W and W-E access to Bank Junction for licensed Hackney Carriages at all times, seven days a week. That, subject to approval for commencement of the statutory order-making process by this Honourable Court, any relevant statutory consultation process be undertaken and the decision on whether to make the order following feedback be reserved to this Honourable Court."

Signatories to the Motion, pursuant to Standing Order 12(3):-

Alderman Tim Hailes (Mover)

Caroline Addy

Deputy Rehana Ameer

Brendan Barns

Deputy Christopher Boden Deputy Mark Bostock James Bromiley-Davis

Tim Butcher

Deputy Michael Cassidy Alderman Emma Edhem Deputy John Fletcher

John Foley

Alderman John Garbutt Alderman Prem Goyal

Jason Groves

Deputy Madush Gupta

Ann Holmes

Alderman Robert Howard

Alderman Robert Hughes-Penney

Wendy Hyde

Alderman Alastair King Alderwoman Sue Langley

Deputy Edward Lord

Ruby Sayed (Seconder) Alderman lan Luder

Alderman & Sheriff Nicholas Lyons

Alderman Michael Mainelli Alderman Bronek Masojada

Timothy McNally Wendy Mead

Deputy Andrien Meyers

Benjamin Murphy Judith Pleasance Deputy Henry Pollard

Henrika Priest

Deputy Nighat Qureishi

Alderman the Baroness Scotland

Alethea Silk

Sir Michael Snyder Mandeep Thandi

Deputy James Thomson

James Tumbridge William Upton Ceri Wilkins Dawn Wright