MAINELLI, Mayor	RESOLVED: That the Court of Common
•	Council holden in the Guildhall of the City of
	London on Thursday 25th April 2024, doth
	hereby appoint the following Committee until
	the first meeting of the Court in April, 2025.
	·

BARBICAN CENTRE BOARD

Constitution

A Non-Ward Committee consisting of,

- Seven¹ Members elected by the Court of Common Council for three-year terms, at least one of whom shall have fewer than five years' service on the Court at the time of their appointment.
- Up to eight non-Common Council representatives appointed by the Board, of which at least two should be drawn from
- a representative of the Policy & Resources Committee
- the Chair of the Barbican Centre Trust (ex-officio)

The Chair of the Board shall be elected from the City Corporation Members.

The Board shall elect a Deputy Chair from the members and The Board shall also elect a second Deputy Chair, appointed from the External Membership of the Board.

There is a maximum service limit of nine years, which shall apply to all Members (including ex-officio) not counting service as Chair or Deputy Chair.2

2 Quorum

The quorum consists of any five Members, provided that Common Councillors are in the majority for the approval of the Budget, the appointment of External Members and the appointment of the Chief Executive Officer.

1. Membership 2024/25

- 6 (3) Sir William Anthony Bowater Russell, Alderman
- 3 (3) Irem Yerdelen
- 5 (2) Munsur Ali
- 5 (2) Randall Keith Anderson, Deputy
- 5 (1) Tijs Broeke
- 1 (1) Nicholas Stephen Leland Lyons, Alderman
- 1 (1) Anett Rideg

Together with the Members and ex-officio Members referred to in paragraph 1 above, and:-

I ODI RUTH Adebekun)
Michael Asante)
Stephen Bediako)
Zulum Elumogo)
Mark Page)
Professor Jane Roscoe)
Dr Jens Riegelsberger)
Despina Tsatsas)

Terms of Reference

To be responsible for:-

the strategic direction, management, operation and maintenance of the Barbican Centre, having determined the 4--(a) general principles and financial targets within which the Centre will operate;

the Board

Up to eight non-Common Council Members appointed by

the assisting with the appointment of the Chief Executive Officer of the Barbican Centre; the final decision is delegated (b) to the Town Clerk and Chief Executive and Chief People Officer in consultation with the Chair.

¹Reduced to seven in April 2024 through natural turnover in committee Membership, in line with the agreement of the Court in April 2023.

Other than in specific cases approved by the Court of Common Council.

Formatted: Indent: Left: 0 cm, First line: 0 cm

Formatted Table

- (c) the Centre's contribution to the City of London Corporation's key policy priority, 'Increasing the impact of the City's cultural and heritage offer on the life of London and the nation', viz.:
 - i) the provision of world-class arts and learning by the Centre for the education, enlightenment and entertainment of all who visit it, particularly through the delivery of its creative and cultural learning programmes; and
 - ii) the provision of access to arts and learning beyond the Centre;
- (d) the creation of enterprise and income-generating support for the Centre.