Agenda item


To elect a Chairman in accordance with Standing Order No. 29.


The Committee proceeded to elect a Chairman in accordance with Standing Order No. 29. 


A list of Members who had expressed an interest in and were eligible to stand was read by the Town Clerk and Deputy Alastair Moss being the only Member expressing willingness to serve was duly elected Chairman for the ensuing year and took the Chair.


Deputy Moss thanked the Committee for their continued support stating that he was very aware that there were now huge challenges ahead and that it was important to continue to work collaboratively both internally and externally in the face of this continuing and unprecedented crisis. He added that the work of this Committee and its responsibility for the                            entirety of the built environment for the City was being closely scrutinised both regionally and nationally in terms of how policies were being applied and how the message that the City was still open for business was being promoted.


The Chair went on to offer his thanks to those Members who had recently left the Committee – Rehana Ameer, Adrian Bastow, Sophie Fernandes and Alderman Prem Goyal. He also welcomed a new member – Alderwoman Susan Langley - and congratulated Barbara Newman,  a former Chairman of this Committee, on her reappointment after a short period of absence.


Finally, the Chair thanked Sheriff Christopher Hayward for his support as his Deputy Chairman over the past year where he had had major input into the work of the Committee and added that he very much looked forward to working alongside a newly appointed Deputy Chair.