Sir Alan Colin Drake Yarrow (Alderman)

Profile image for Sir Alan Colin Drake Yarrow (Alderman)

Title: Alderman

Ward: Bridge and Bridge Without

Other members representing this Ward:

Contact information

Correspondence address: 
Members' Room
PO Box 270


Download Sir Alan Colin Drake Yarrow (Alderman) contact details as VCard

Committee appointments

Additional Information

Alan Yarrow was born in Johor Bahru Malaysia and educated at Harrow.  He left Dresdner Kleinwort in December 2009, after 37 years with the group, latterly as Group Vice Chairman and Chairman of the UK Bank. 


Alan is currently Chairman and Chartered Honorary Fellow of the Chartered Institute for Securities & Investment, Chairman of Turquoise Global Holdings Ltd, and Director of Institutional Protection Services Ltd and Arbuthnot Banking Group.  He is also Vice President of the Royal Mencap Society, Independent Partnership Advisor to James Hambro & Partners and Advisory Board Member of Zeamo Incorporated (USA).


Alan is an Alderman, Magistrate and HM Lieutenant of the City of London, a member of the Court of the Fishmongers’ Company, and Liveryman of several other Livery Companies.  He is a member of the Takeover Appeal Board, the Advisory Board of the Commonwealth Investment & Advisory Council, a Doctor of Science Honoris Causa of City University London, an Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries & Administrators, a Knight of Justice in the Order of St. John and in July 2015 was awarded the Order of the Aztec Eagle, Mexico.  In January 2016, Alan received a Knighthood for services to international business, inclusion and the City of London.


Alan was formerly Lord Mayor of the City of London for the year 2014-15, Sheriff in 2011-12, Almoner of Christ’s Hospital, Trustee of the Police Foundation and of the Lord Mayor’s Appeal Ltd, Deputy Chairman of the FSA Practitioner Panel, Chairman of LIBA (now AFME), Chairman of Complinet Ltd, a Director of Fixnetix Ltd, Chairman of Kleinwort Benson Group, Vice President of British Bankers Association and Member of the Takeover Panel and the Chancellor of the Exchequer’s High Level Stakeholder Group.